-- I was so not expecting Arzt or whatever his name was to explode. That was pretty damn brave (or stupid) of the others to continue handling the dynamite after that.
-- "Who the hell is Hugo, and how does he have enough money to leave his mother $160 million?" Heh.
-- What exactly is Kate trying to prove? How does carrying the highly unstable explosives make up for her past in any kind of psychological karma?
-- Crazy Lady taking the baby was not a surprise. It was an interesting twist to find that she was apparently working with Ethan when Claire was taken. That's my assumption, anyway, given Claire's flashback.
-- It seems to me that Hurley hasn't had much of that habitual bad luck since the plane crash. Watching him try and make that flight was fun, a kind of necessary lightness to the episode. Also, freaky that his Evil Numbers showed up on the Hatch of Doom.
-- Poor, poor Charlie. Here he has a chance to stay clean without having to exercise his nearly nonexistent willpower, and a plane full of heroin turns up just for him. We all know what's going to happen next season. Damn it.
-- I knew the instant that Crazy Lady said "They said they would come for the child..." I knew it was Walt instead of Aaron. Walt's the one with the weird powers, right?
-- So that's how everyone gets back to the island! Old ugly fishermen steal Walt and blow up the raft, and Sawyer, Jin, and Michael will all end up washed back up on the beach they can't escape. Or one or more of them could die, but I'm betting they all live to see S2. Even Sawyer, who was wounded. (How cool was it that Mr. Tries to be Selfish was willing to throw down to protect Walt?)
-- Interesting ending. So that hatch apparently leads down to the center of the earth, or at least reaches a lot farther than the hatch appeared it would. And next season will be the war of Locke and Jack. Hmm. I think Jack is too quick to dismiss Locke as crazy.
ETA:
I'm sorry, I really tried to love this episode as much as last week's. I mean, Irina is still back, so it should be good. It's just...it was too Night of the Living Dead for me. I kept laughing at moments that were supposed to be tense. Come on...zombies?? If this were Buffy, that would make sense to me. But it's Alias. It didn't work for me at all.
Don't even get me started on the Syd/Vaughn scenes.
And on the Vaughn Thing...I enjoyed his conversation with Irina, because, well, Irina makes everything better. But I must tell you all that I have little faith in this new story for next season. I'm of two minds, really:
1. OMG they're doing something interesting with his character! That's awesome! Anything they do will have to be better than the Boyscout they've had him playing since S1. Heck, I was begging for him to turn evil in S2. Maybe this show will be fun again next year.
2. Ah, heck, they have to have something stop the Spy!Wedding next season. Because angst will surely breath life back into this dead 'ship. In which case, ugh. Especially given JG's semi-confirmed pregnancy.
Also the car crash? Raise your hand if you think Vaughn will be struck with amnesia next season.
The only truly good moments tonight:
"One thing about Jack. He hates being a puppet."
Heh.
Sloane saving Sydney was...an interesting twist. He shot his own daughter and thwarted the prophecy. If Nadia were to die, it would be by his hand, not Sydney's.
Which only proves she won't die.
Jack and Irina's final scene. So. Awesome. He lets her go, and they kiss. *sigh*
Of course, Lena Olin won't be back next season, will she? Which is just a crying shame.
no subject
Date: 2005-05-26 02:30 pm (UTC)As for the NotVaughn reveal, I'm not quite sure how they can make it a believable plot. He's really been someone else since when they first met in Season 1? The huh? I can't imagine any covert op would ask him to be a complete goob for four years. And now all the DaddyVaughn stuff makes no sense, unless it's going to play an even bigger role next season. *boggles*
no subject
Date: 2005-05-26 02:37 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-05-26 09:04 pm (UTC)::raises both hands and sighs:: That was the first thing my bf and I thought of after the crash. Then we decided it was too cheesy and soap opera-ish. Then we remembered we were talking about Alias and decided the writers would definitely go there next season. I will be shocked if S5 is not the Amnesia!Vaughn season. At this point, I wish I had amnesia regarding the past two seasons of this show.
no subject
Date: 2005-05-29 08:12 pm (UTC)Ahh, Jack!
And no, I think it all makes sense when we assume IRINA is the Chosen One--endfight with her sister, and one of them dead...