rhienelleth: (Ronon pissed off - goldie_gal)
[personal profile] rhienelleth
I promised myself I wasn't going to comment on the...what does one call it? "Debate" is far too tame a word. "Flaming idiocy" is maybe better. Ok, then, the flaming idiocy that sparked an explosion currently raging across the SF/F fandom. I have no words. Go here, and read all about how fantasy is stealing SF's audience and dumbing down the world. No, seriously. Then go read [livejournal.com profile] scott_lynch's clever and funny response. I don't actually know who Scott Lynch is, but I love him.

Then go visit [livejournal.com profile] dolphin__girl and read her response as well as find some links to other intelligent people responding. They've all said it far better and more eloquently than I could.

I am going to limit myself to only my gut response here, because really I don't have time to get into anything longer, and as I stated, others have already said it better. I am a genre writer. And before I was ever a genre writer, I was a genre reader. I love SF/F best, and no, I do not differentiate. How can I? My shelves are full of books like Dune and Dragonriders of Pern that cross over into both, IMO. And as a genre, we of the SFF world have been discriminated against and ridiculed by "real literature" enthusiasts for years. Don't get me started on the college creative writing experience that killed any desire I had to choose it as my major. And now, not only are we being snidely dismissed by the "real literature" crowd, but also by our own ranks. It defies belief. What I'm feeling right now is very much akin to the time I read an interview by a very prominent, NYT bestselling fantasy epic author, who in his interview stated that he doesn't write "fantasy" and basically called his fans stupid if they believed he did, then proceeded to insult the entire genre. His genre. This is like that. I am outraged and ashamed and in disbelief.

You know what? Fantasy isn't stupid and simplistic and easy to frelling write. And if you're an SF author who disagrees, go try and write it, [censored].

Date: 2005-12-16 07:09 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dolphin--girl.livejournal.com
I'm reminded of an individual who used to post on a list I frequent, who steadfastly maintained that writing SF was work, but writing Fantasy was easy, and anybody could write that fluff. When others argued, he set out to prove them wrong by tossing off a Fantasy story.

The result, from the sections posted, were terrible.

People are so dismissive of other genres without ever trying (or hell, reading) them. I, for instance, would love to write a Romance, but I don't think I could ever pull it off. I have to settle for reading Jenny Cruisie instead. :)

Date: 2005-12-16 07:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rhienelleth.livejournal.com
LMAO. Oh, I bet that was an interesting read.

Yes, more than any other genre, I think, people commonly believe Romance is easy to write. It isn't. I've tried. There are very specific and steadfast rules which must be followed for successful romance, like any other genre, and they are more difficult than most people think to pull off.

I guess this just proves there's elitism and prejudice everywhere in the world, and not just where one might expect.

Date: 2005-12-16 07:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ms-pie.livejournal.com
Seriously? People suck sometimes. I don't really read SF or Fantasy so I don't have any background on the genres, but it seems so small minded. At the end of the day, read what you want, write what you want, and don't belittle other's efforts.

It reminds me of how people look down on romance... Just becuase I enjoy romance and happy endings etc, doesn't make me a lesser human being :-)

Alas, Be Proud! And don't let the man bring you down *g*

Profile

rhienelleth: (Default)
rhienelleth

February 2016

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
141516171819 20
21222324252627
2829     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 07:48 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios