Smallville
Jan. 26th, 2006 09:21 pmWhat. The. Fuck.
Seriously, this is why I only watch this show intermittently, because it fucks with canon so hard it pisses me off and I inevitably stop watching for awhile.
Jonathan Kent should not be dead. Jonathan and Martha are alive, and Jonathan plays an integral part in at least one pretty freaking major storyline in the comics. Now, I understand that Jonathan is a side character, almost meaningless in the grand scheme of things. It's not like they killed Lois, right? (Yeah, bringing her into the show was one of those 'fucked with canon, pissed me off' moments.) But still. Why not kill the whiny brat Lana? She has to disappear from Clark's life at some point, right? Because she's his very ex-girlfriend by the time he works for the Daily Planet in Metropolis.
I just...words fail me. They save Lana, and kill Jonathan. I just have to look at this show as completely AU fanfiction, and then it's all ok. In fact, it's all actually pretty good. Because it's angsty and has all this fodder for the future, like Lionel moving in on Martha, and the secret he holds on that piece of paper, and Clark and Lana splitting because he can never tell her his secret, and Lana and Lex getting together, because the show will obviously never hook him up with Cloe, more's the pity. (Lex should have more class than to love Lana, really, but I'll take him with just about anyone.)
I did love the imagery by the graveside at the end. Lex in the background, apart but there, Clark beside his father's grave after everyone else has gone.
Hmm. This show just aggravates me so much. AU fanfiction bills itself that way, so you know what you're getting into.
ETA: And by canon, I'm referring to the comics -- before they were revamped 50 billion times -- not the movies and other such. Jonathan dying is not the reason Clark originally became Superman, no matter what other media has lied and told you.
no subject
Date: 2006-01-29 11:21 am (UTC)