Oct. 23rd, 2006

rhienelleth: (kara - icon_ascension)
Spoiler warning - sorry [personal profile] kistha!
rhienelleth: (buffy-angel - snowdrifted)
[personal profile] carmen_sandiego posted her top ten (or fifteen) Buffy moments.  I was going to just reply to hers, but it got too long, so now I'm posting it here.  The first eight are me agreeing with things on her list.  After that are some of my favorite moments. 

And really, who can limit themselves to just ten?  It's Buffy!
The list )



rhienelleth: (bond  - ponyboy)
I admit to a certain amount of skepticism about Casino Royale. You see, my Mom loves James Bond. Specifically, Sean Connery's Bond, but she owns all of the movies, every last one. Even the one with the actor (who's name escapes me) who only played Bond once, in which Bond actually fell in love and got married, only to have his new wife tragically killed in his arms by the bad guys at the end of the movie, as they were driving off together.

When I was growing up, and we would ask "Mom, can we watch a movie today?" almost inevitably, the answer would be, "Ok, but let's watch a Bond movie." So, from a pre-early teen age, I was indoctrinated in all things Bond pretty heavily. When Pierce Brosnan finally got the role (Mom was very upset when he couldn't take it originally because of his Remmington Steele contract), she declared him the "best Bond since Connery", who has, of course, never been surpassed.

So, when Daniel Craig was cast, I found myself skeptical at best. A blond, blue eyed Bond? Who, while kinda pretty to look at, had yet to impress me with an ability to pull off the suave, debonair, lethal combination required for Bond, James Bond, thank-you-very-much.

I've avoided all previews, dreading the disappointment (though arguably, not much could be worse than Timothy Dalton's turn). Until today, when I finally caved and watched the theatrical trailer.  Oh.  My.  God. 

This is definitely not any Bond I've seen before.  It isn't Connery's Bond, nor Moore's, nor Dalton's (thank God), and lacks the sohpisticated GQ look of Brosnan's.  Instead, Craig brings a kind of...cold electricity to the role.  He reminds me of, believe it or not, a sexier, more lethal Sark.  He's got this kind of hard bodied look, helped along by those brilliant blue eyes I was so skeptical of, which can at turns look stone cold or electrically hot.  And I could never quite picture his voice pulling off  "Bond, James Bond."   Damn.  Was I ever really frelling wrong on this one, girls.  Watch the preview.  Tell me that isn't the hottest damn thing you've seen all year.  I'll have trouble believing you if you do. 

I absolutely need an icon, stat.  OMG, I'm watching the preview again to try and decide which shot would make the bestest icon ever.  Probably one of the many in which he's holding and/or shooting a silenced gun, looking sexy and lethal all at the same time. 

Hmm.  This just occurred to me, but do you think my Mom's fascination with James Bond is to blame for my obsession with sexy spies?  Just maybe? 

*epiphany*

Profile

rhienelleth: (Default)
rhienelleth

February 2016

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
141516171819 20
21222324252627
2829     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 09:47 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios