rhienelleth: (sarkandsyd - awakencordy)
[personal profile] rhienelleth
From a quick perusal of the f-list:

How glad am I that I was never a part of the HP Fandom? Oh yes, very glad, indeed. Of course, I would never have lasted through all that. I stopped going to various BSG message boards before S1 even aired due to wank that was no where near as bad. There just isn't enough time in my day to put up with shit like that. Fandom should be fun, without useless she said/she said arguments, shipper and/or flame wars, and trolling.

I'm sure this kind of insanity wasn't limited to HP fandom, though. I just don't remember Alias being like that back in the day, even at the height of S/V shippers vs. S/anybody else (Sark) shippers. Maybe I didn't go to the right boards. The height of that fandom was starting to fade about the time we all switched over to LJ from our various blogs. I vaguely remember some psychotically obsessed S/V shipper from some boards somewhere (TWoP? SD-6?) coming up in conversation occassionally, but that's about it. Of course, the boards I hung out at were Modded by fellow Sarkney and/or non-Vaughn lovers like myself (ah, [profile] mspooh, [profile] ageofaquarius, [personal profile] trixalicious, [personal profile] rach, [personal profile] gabbysilang, [profile] randomeliza -- those were the days, weren't they?)

I am just grateful that if such wank existed in my first real fandom, I was unaware of it. Now we are all so diversified, with so many fandoms, it's all very different. Still fun, but different.

ETA: Is it just me, or is LJ's new "user friendly" interface still frakking buggy?  Whenever I insert a username, it wants to inlcude everything I type after in said username, and when I 'switch' to plain text mode to fix it, LJ inserts all these random html tags that show up in the text when I post, and deletes my paragraph formatting.  User friendly, my ass!  I want the only interface back.  Yes, you had to exert some effort with a teeny bit of html knowledge, but dude, so much more reliable and user frakking friendly.

Date: 2006-06-20 09:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] randomeliza.livejournal.com
Aww. *nostalgia* Also, I didn't know that [livejournal.com profile] rach and [livejournal.com profile] ageofaquarius were on LJ! Awww. And I think we used to take the piss out of the SD-psychos and the crazy S/V shipper from the TWoP boards who sometimes came on the Sark board and started talking about why he was not as good as Vaughn. Which, compensating much? Whatevs, yo, I know Sark is better. Anyway, I could just be making that up, but I'm pretty sure it was TWoP. Ah, the Harem. My first fandom was so sane.

Date: 2006-06-20 11:44 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kismeteve.livejournal.com
I am so very glad my first view of fandom was via Alias. I got my lj as you, Eliza, Thorne, larasdice, aliasrlm, mspooh and a few others shifted on to lj from your blogs, and it was so nice to see a group of people who genuinely enjoyed the show come together in appreciation. I think I would have been scared off the internet had I started watching Buffy or HP fandom.

Profile

rhienelleth: (Default)
rhienelleth

February 2016

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
141516171819 20
21222324252627
2829     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 09:22 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios