rhienelleth: (jack -- cmon_amuse_me)
[personal profile] rhienelleth
Editing has eaten my brain. I mean, it's great that we get to send The North Wind off to a couple of editors and an agent, but OMG, the editing! The fifteen million Japanese words that must be italicized (or, for the purpose of proper submission formatting, underlined), the fifteen billion little skipped words, typos, occassional comma errors, etc, etc. Which doesn't include any of the "Hmm..I don't like this sentence/paragraph/scene - I think I'll just rewrite it!" moments.

Last night, I had this dream where we were forced to live in a hotel room without internet access until we finished editing the thing. Gee, think my subconscious is trying to tell me something? In the same dream, there were other people in our 'group' at this hotel, some of them writers, some of them other artists - and two different small groups of these very specific people in my head got together and acted out the first chapter of the book for us, with both presentations ending up entirely different from one another. It was very, very strange! Although when I woke up, I felt some mild disappointment that it was only a dream because both of the skits were pretty damn cool.

Saw Pirates yesterday. I promise a longer, more spoilery post later, but for now it was really, really fun and a very good sequel. I know the fandom has to be absolutely freaking out: Elizabeth/Jack! Jack/Will! Jack/Norrington! Will/Norrington! Elizabeth/Norrington! Any threesome thereof! See, I don't write the slash, but OMG this movie had almost as much subtext as LOTR.

But, on to the story. Jack's entrance was not quite as good as his entrance into the first movie, but really, what could top that? And they certainly tried to match it, and it was a fun moment. I wondered how they were going to get literally everyone from the first movie back in this movie, but they did a fantastic job with that. It was like a really excellently written and fully fleshed out fanfic, especially when you consider the shippy scenes. And by shippy, I don't mean the big wooden boats.

This Pirates was definitely a darker, more serious movie than the first. Those of you with small children, beware. We took the nephews, who loved Curse, and two minutes in, Brennan stood up out of his seat and said "I want to go home." (It was the scene with the crows and the cages, for those of you who've seen it.) He sat on Mom's lap and was convinced to stay, but subsequent violent action sequences (the Krakken, whenever it was onscreen) and not so implied killing (Davy Jones callously orders several executions) left the little guys a little traumatized. When asked at the end if he liked the movie "even though it was a little scary", Riley confessed he "only liked it this much" holding his fingers about half an inch apart. Today, however, he is wandering the house dressed as Captain Jack Sparrow, so apparently the damage was minimal.

There is a tiny scene after the credits, but it isn't anything to do with the next film or story essential, and it's maybe ten seconds long. The credits are very, very long. I'd wait to watch that bit on video, rather than sit in the theater for an extra five minutes.

ETA: Spoilers about the after-credits-scene in the comments.

Date: 2006-07-08 09:51 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ciachick711.livejournal.com
I went to see Pirates 2 today. My favorite parts of the movie were definitely any scene with Will, Jack, Elizabeth, and/or Norrington. I'm not involved in the fandom at all and I don't normally do slash, but it was so obvious in this movie that I couldn't not notice it. I could do without sequels, so I'm not too thrilled they've done a third one already.

Date: 2006-07-09 02:21 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ageofaquarius.livejournal.com
I've seen it. What was the last scene tho.

I LOVED THIS MOVIE. It was so throughly entertaining. LOVED IT. I may go see this again.

Date: 2006-07-09 03:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rhienelleth.livejournal.com
I loved it as well. I'm definitely seeing it again. :)

The final scene was ten seconds of what happens to the dog. He's the new king for the cannibals.

Date: 2006-07-12 12:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] carmen-sandiego.livejournal.com
*comes late to the party*

I'm glad you mentioned that about the after-credits scene, because it didn't even occur to me to stay after to watch.

Undead monkey! OT3 subtext! Snogging!

But y'all, is it just me or is the Krakken, like, WAY STUPID? *sigh* Overused, IMHO.

But I think I need to watch the snogging some more...

Profile

rhienelleth: (Default)
rhienelleth

February 2016

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
141516171819 20
21222324252627
2829     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 06:17 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios