rhienelleth: (beading)
[personal profile] rhienelleth
I have started a new jewelry project that I'm soooooooo excited about!

The local 'old, one-movie theater' here in town is going to show a special screening of Phantom of the Opera here on the Friday night before Halloween.  They're going to have a masquerade party before the actual movie, and my girlfriends and I are all going to go.   I've been debating my costume/mask since last month.  L is going to sew me a fancy dress to go with the awesome corset I purchased at last month's Ren Faire (I should post a pic of it; I keep forgetting.) 

I was looking at masks yesterday online, and not finding anything I really like (other than some really cool, really expensive Venetian masks that would have to be imported...and of course, the masks at Goblin Art, but they don't have the right colors in stock for my costume, and it's getting kinda late to do a custom order).  So I got to thinking - how hard could it be to make my own mask?  And clicking on various 'how-to' links brought me to - hey, I bet I could make one with wire scultpure!  And add a bunch of crystals and neat looking stuff.  I did a mock up last night with cheap copper wire and silver plate, and it turned out better than I thought it would, so I'm ordering the stuff to do a 'real' one today.  I'll post pics of the finished product when it's done. :D

Date: 2006-10-05 08:34 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kistha.livejournal.com
I wish you had told me sometime earlier...I do custom masks (non-leather). :)

I can't wait to see the beaded version!!!!

And, yes I so want to see pics of the corset. I hope you have fun (if it is the new move, it blows chunks, but that's just me...)

Date: 2006-10-05 09:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rhienelleth.livejournal.com
I didn't even think about it until recently. I mean, I thought about the rest of the costume, but it didn't occur to me I'd need a mask until someone else mentioned it. Which is unfortunate, cause I remember you make totally awesome masks!

There were definitely things I didn't like about the movie, but there were things I liked, too. I'll be too busy admiring costumes to pay much attention to it, anyway.

Date: 2006-10-05 09:48 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kistha.livejournal.com
I'm glad you like my masks, for a while I couldn't remember when you would have seen one. *lol*

Yeah, I pretty much hated the whole thing, *mostly* becasue it was supposed to be a recreation of Andrew Loyd Webber's musical. As a movie it wasn't bad, but as a copy of the musical, I thought it sucked. I did a rather harsh review here: http://kistha.livejournal.com/2004/12/21/

Ok, enough about my opinions - I hope you have a great time at the shindig, and are the prettiest one there.

Profile

rhienelleth: (Default)
rhienelleth

February 2016

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
141516171819 20
21222324252627
2829     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 01:13 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios