meme interview thing
Mar. 2nd, 2007 09:04 am1. Pirate or Ninja, and WHY?
Talk about a tough one right out of the gate! Not only do I have to choose one or the other, but I have to explain why. I had to ponder this one quite a bit, but in the end, I have to say PIRATE. Why? Well, shhh! It's kind of a secret, but I'm sorta already a ninja. (Er, yes I know how that sounds, and no, I'm not going to explain further. Some of you already know, anyway, but only a very very few.) So if you're choosing to be something, you'd want it to be something you've never been before, right? Plus, I've got this obsession with pirates (space pirates, but still pirates!) going on for several months, now. Pirates get to loot treasure and drink rum, and pretty much do whatever they want whenever they want. And it would be doubly cool to be one of MY pirates, cause they get to do other things, like have telepathy and other neat stuff. And I get kind of motion sick sometimes, so probably space would be better than the ocean for me. Maybe.
2. Since you built your house, would you do it again if yes, what would you change?
YES, absolutely, because I already know all the stuff we'd do different, or add since we'll be in a better place financially for the next one. But there have been times when I'd've said NO and meant it, and probably when the next one is being built, I'll wish I'd said no. But afterward, it'll all be worth it. Building a house is somethign that will never, ever, ever go smoothly. If I had the first house to do over again....I'd choose not to build it the same summer we were getting married. Because that? Was WAY too much stress. (Let's not even talk about the fact that he was in graduate school with no job and no money, and I was only working part time.)
But for the next house, absolutely yes. Because it's the only way we can afford it the way we want it. (It does pay to have a husband who knows construction, sometimes. And a father-in-law.) It will be bigger by a couple of rooms, one of which will be the library/gaming room/office above the garage. Mark will get his dojo somewhere close by, but not actually in our house, so our garage can really just be a garage. And if we can make it work, we'll be adding a spa tub to the master bath. *fingers crossed* Also? A gas range tope for my kitchen, which I should have done for this house, but was too busy with things like wedding plans to think about.
3. What do you think is your weirdest interest and why?
Oooooh, this one is tough, too. Weirdest interest. I have so many to sort through and pick from. Well, I don't consider my interests weird, exactly, but I know several other people that have been sorta shocked by some I have...if it were me, I'd say maybe my embarrassing addiction to a certain soap opera (General Hospital - my sister and I have been watching it since we were kids at home with Mom) and the occassional cheesy romance (Sherrilyyn Kenyon can be pretty cheesy in spots, even though I love her books). But others probably think the less, er, feminine interests in my life are weird. I study a martial art, I have a CWP (Concealed Weapon Carry Permit), carry a knife on me at all times (except when I can't), and sometimes a gun as well. I consider this nothing less than my personal obligation to protect myself, my family, and loved ones. I also go to the shooting range and actually practice, otherwise one shouldn't carry. Why is this weird? I'm sorta a feminine gal. I always wear make-up, jewelry, etc, and people have pretty unanimously been shocked when I've whipped out my Benchmade to cut open a package or some such in front of them. And as an example, one day when I actually forgot to wear it, an older guy I worked with was trying to open something and couldn't, and I said without thinking "Dang, wish I had my benchmade, I could cut that open for you. Usually I carry it." And he stopped and blinked and kinda looked at me, and said "I hope you're joking," all serious. Um, nope. Not joking.
4. What is your favorite season, and why?
Oh, an easy one! I love all the seasons, but my absolute favorite is autumn. I love the bite in the air, the way the leaves change colors, the smell of the first wood stove burning, wearing sweaters again, curling up on a dreary evening in the nice warm house with a good book. Winter is a close runner up. If we got just a little more snow to actually play in, it would probably be first, but we don't. :(
5. What would be the first thing you'd do if a novel of yours was picked up by a publisher?
The very first thing? Jump up and down, screaming in excitement, followed closely by hugging my husband and calling everyone I know to tell them, and probably posting something nearly incoherent on LJ. Somewhere in there, I'd probably have to sit down for a bit to stop my head from spinning. Mark and I would go out to our favorite nice restaurant to celebrate. After that, I'm not sure. Write more! :D We'd probably do something pretty boring with the money, like put it towards our school loans. Depending on how the novel was picked up, I might look into getting an agent, if I didn't already have one.
Meme rules :
1. Leave me a comment saying, "Me, Me!!!" while waving your hand in the air.
2. I will respond by asking you five questions.
3. You will update your LJ with the answers to the questions.
4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.
no subject
Date: 2007-03-02 05:27 pm (UTC)So... ME ME ME ME ME ME :D
no subject
Date: 2007-03-02 05:53 pm (UTC)1. If you could live anywhere in the world - and money was no object - where would it be, and why?
2. Other than being a highly successful novelist, what would your dream job be?
3. What's your favorite thing about living and working in Seattle (or any big city)? Your least favorite?
4. When did you first know you wanted to be a writer, and what was the plot of the very first novel you wrote?
5. And shamelessly stolen from
no subject
Date: 2007-03-02 06:07 pm (UTC)The weapon permit is an interesting thing. I never would have thought that--learn something new everyday :)
Oh, and I'd totally jump up and down with you too with the novel thing.
Okay, so, yeah, ask me some questions :)
no subject
Date: 2007-03-02 06:31 pm (UTC)1. What was your very first foray into fandom and/or fanfic, and what pulled you into the craziness (and has kept you here)?
2. When did you first decide you wanted to be a writer, and why?
3. Who is your all time favorite fictional character of all time, either yours or someone else's, and what makes them your favorite? Also, do you think your love of this character effects how you write today, and the characters you create now?
4. What's your favorite childhood memory?
5. And because I just finished reading an interesting post on this in someone else's journal, WHY do you write, and could you ever give it up, even if your work never saw publication (which it absolutely will, but for the purposes of this question, we'll assume that something horrific happens in the publishing world, or something, and books cease being published.)
no subject
Date: 2007-03-02 06:39 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2007-03-02 06:40 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2007-03-02 06:39 pm (UTC)Bonus Q: If you were a Heroine, would you want your Hero to be:
a) a hitman
b) a pirate
c) a super-spy
And why?
no subject
Date: 2007-03-02 07:17 pm (UTC)I do wish you lived closer - I want to pick "firearms" as an actual skill as opposed to "I think I could based on childhood experience with air guns." And I think I'd like you as an instructor. I used to be terrified of having a gun (long story, some other time) but I do wear a knife everywhere, and yes people often get excited about it. I personally like Spydercos for personal carry. I have two, the "big scary one" and the little less scary one. These days I wear the less scary version just so I get less flack.
PS
Date: 2007-03-02 07:18 pm (UTC)Re: PS
Date: 2007-03-02 07:27 pm (UTC)I have to say, though, that its one of the better soaps out there. I've tried watching others before, and invariably I'm like "people watch this crap?" But I'm probably prejudiced, LOL.
Spydercos are a good brand (I used to work for a sporting goods store, I know them all), but I like my Benchmade cause even though it's a folding knife, it has a button release for the blade, making it an instantaneous flip open without qualifying as an illegal "switchblade". I'll have to show it to you in June. :)
Re: PS
Date: 2007-03-02 07:28 pm (UTC)I might have to trade up. :)