rhienelleth: (seth lean - trixalicious)
[personal profile] rhienelleth
So, a few of my shows had finales last night.

Huh - interesting what they're setting up for next season, here.  Is Zack going to Iraq a 'good-bye' for his character, kinda like the 'sabbatical' Brennan's boss before Cam took, and never came back from?  I did very much enjoy Zack questioning Boothe about stuff that concerns him, though, that was a nice character moment. 

Brennan being so excited that Angela asked her to be her maid-of-honor?  Awwwwww. 

Billy Gibbons returning as Angela's Dad?  AWESOME!  I loved his convo w/Hodgins, and him walking Angela down the aisle, and his gravelly deep voice.  Hee.  I wonder how they got him to do this?

Boothe arresting Brennan's Dad, or trying to arrest him, and then succeeding, I enjoyed, even though I spent the whole episode wondering why he came back right now, other than as a convenience to the writers.  His lame "I heard you were getting married" excuse didn't work for me. 

Angela's Fiji marriage came up again!  Man, I'd forgotten all about that, or I would have been wondering how she expected to marry Hodgins.  So after all that, they're not even married.  Okay.

And please, please, PLEASE don't tell me that there are actually people in fandom who will view that last scene w/Brennan and Boothe as some kind of shippy cliffhanger.  Cause it's really not.  A cliffhanger, or shippy.  "So what do we do now?" is NOT, trust me, in reference to their relationship whatsoever.  Even thought the silly writers tried to make us think it was.  I thought we'd finished with the shippy anvils last season!  Well, the piano sized ones, anyway.

Hmm, I hope this show makes strides in S3 like it did in S2 from S1 - should be interesting, in any case. 


Oh, show.  Gideon is tortured enough without you torturing him like this in every season finale.  Last time it was his safe haven being violated by a head in a box.  This time it's his list of saved people violated.  Poor Jason.  At some point he's going to crack, and then he'll have to leave the show, cause he won't be able to lead the BAU anymore.  Or, I guess Hotch leads the BAU...now I'm confused, cause all this time I thought it was Gideon, but that psychologist Director? seemed to think it was Hotch.  Um...hmm.

"Button mums are something you buy for your mother."

And then at the end of the show, there are flowers on the bed w/Frank's dead mother.  I love those little touches this show constantly does. :)

Frank was perfectly chilling, as always.  Finding his mother dead in her apartment, undiscovered all this time until he led them to find her, was a nice touch.  (What, did he pay her rent for a year, or something?)  As were the flowers he'd been leaving on her bed.  Bringing back all the 'saved' victims from the last two seasons was nice, too, even if I did feel they were needlessly tormenting Gideon even more.

I really felt that blond girl would have sensed something off with Frank much earlier.  Once a victim, I'd think that sense for predators would have been heightened by her experiences.  When the phone rang, she already strongly suspected he wasn't Gideon.  She should have used it as an excuse to get up, then made a quick exit out the back door instead, running like hell for a neighbor's house.  Alas, she didn't.

I felt like the ending for Frank and Jane was a little...'oh let's wrap this up by having them jump in front of a train together'.  Plus, all those FBI agents standing right there, and yet they couldn't have stopped them? 

Ooooooh, they're setting up Prentiss to work against Hotch next season.  Team conflict!  As if they don't have enough problems already.  Although I wonder if Emily will actually play ball w/her superiors, or stay loyal to the team?  Hmm.  Hotch, you really shouldn't have pissed that Deputy Director off, even if you are really damn good at your job.  (And you are.  I loved that 30 second rundown of the team.  It was spot on and actually very lovely.  Hotch loves his team a whole lot.)

Huh, I wonder when they'll bring Hotch's dreamy brother back for an episode?  Sorry, random segue. 

Good finale, a strong second season overall.  Can't wait to see where they go next season!





What a great finale!  I have nothing but good things to say about this one, mostly.  Nice balance of character and story, tension and awww. 

Danny and Lindsay, finally!  what, were the writers deliberately saving that for the finale?  I liked the pool game, and the fact that Danny let her sleep and went in for her shift (even if he was late!)  Since the s-e-x started at the pool table....does Danny have a pool table in his apartment?  Cause, you know, his shirt was coming off and everything.  Makes for a possibly awkward cab ride home, or something, if they were out.

Flack is so awesome.  He really needs a storyline all his own.  Something where he takes his shirt off at some point would be good.  Just sayin' ;)

Damn, was the Irish mob leader fine, or what?  Seriously, it was distracting me from how evil he was.  And then the fight at the end with him and Mack under the sprinkler systems...*sigh* too bad he's dead. 

OKAY!  So this show was distracting me with hot men!  I still enjoyed the actual story a great deal.  The lab being invaded was kinda Die Hard, which, you know, I liked that movie a whole lot.  Nothing wrong with that.  Danny showing up in Lindsay's place and ending up a hostage with a broken hand...you know he had to be saying to himself "Thank God it's me and not Lindsay".  He never stopped thinking, and he figured a way out, didn't he?  Poor Adam had already been tortured for six hours, so I can't really blame him for not immediately jumping on Danny's plan.  So, when Flack and the cops finally burst in after Danny's pretty much saved himself, (to no fault of theirs, they were working on it, and Danny gave them the opening they needed), and Lindsay is all "OMG, Danny!" and she apologizes because it should have been her...I really thought Danny should have said something is response, like "Don't be an idiot, beautiful."  Cause what man worth his salt would want the woman he's sleeping with tortured in his place?  I get Lindsay feeling guilty, but Danny shouldn't have let her.  Although he was honestly baffled at what she was apologizing for, so that says right there that he wasn't thinking the same way she was...but it still would have been good to have a response from him once she explained what she was sorry about. 

Um, Mac, I'm pretty sure you have to at least file a report and answer some questions about what happened and why the lab blew up before heading off to London.  (This was actually my one quibble with the episode.)  It makes a nice exit line, but is so unrealistic it shoves me right out of the story, there at the end. 








Date: 2007-05-18 12:40 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] notasalmon.livejournal.com
I heart Bones. That closing shot was absolutely classic. How a show that deals with people dying in nasty ways makes me laugh that hard slightly disturbs me...

Profile

rhienelleth: (Default)
rhienelleth

February 2016

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
141516171819 20
21222324252627
2829     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 11:08 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios