rhienelleth: (weir/shep - goldie_gal)
[personal profile] rhienelleth
So, given my newfound obsession love for SGA, I did some web surfing this weekend. Some of it research, some of it for fun. In the process, I ran across a certain forum, which shall remain nameless (but which I'm sure you all can figure out if you think really hard). In it was a conversation regarding the character of Teyla, by supposed fans of said character.

And it was almost the most negative thread I've ever read in fandom, barring some of the more spectacular fandom explosions in the various Alias years. These are some of the things they were saying, and my gut response to them. You should know that while I'm paraphrasing, I am in no way exaggerating the opinions of these so-called 'Teyla fans':

- Teyla would be a great character, if only TPTB and RL didn't write/act her so woodenly.

Um, correct me if I'm wrong, but she is supposed to be speaking English or whatever as a second language, right? Not her native tongue? Have you ever heard anyone born in a foreign country but now living in the US speak our language? They are so much more precise and formal than, say, me. I don't find her wooden at all. RL does a fabulous job with very natural facial expressions and body language, and yes, her speech is slightly stilted and formal. So what? It should be different from McKay's, or Sheppard's, or anyone else's.

- Telya's character only exists on the show as a sex object for Shep and whatever other male characters they (TPTB) decide.

Really? She does? Ooooooh, right. Because there's so much sex going on, all the time! Makes perfect sense. I mean really, Sheppard only speaks to her so he has an excuse to check out her ass. Sure, I've noticed that tons of times in my short time watching. <-sarcasm, in case anyone missed it.

Let's see, so far this season, we've seen Teyla be a diplomat, a warrior, a team leader, a Wraith-sensor...but I guess she's only really there as a sex object.

- Now that Ronon's on board, Teyla's character serves no real purpose. She was just their Wraith-expert, and Ronon knows more than she does, plus he's a better fighter.

Ok, so yes, I think it's pretty obvious that Ronon is the best fighter on the team. He's the resident 'muscle'. So what? I don't think Teyla really filled that role before. I mean, yes, she can fight well, she's training John or whatever, but she was never 'the muscle' that I saw. As for Wraith-expert, I bet she still knows a few things Ronon doesn't, plus she has that all-important ability to sense them. Can Ronon do that? Don't think so. Not to mention the fact that she's pretty much the only diplomat they have. John can talk the talk, but when it comes down to it, he's still a military man. Teyla is definitely the most negotiation-friendly of the bunch. I hardly think Ronon has usurped her position.

- If only they'd quit dressing her in those outfits, she wouldn't be just a sex object anymore.

Dudes, did you watch Star Trek? Any of the incarnations? Poor Jolene Blalock practically had her outfits painted on. Oh, you mean that bit of midriff they like Teyla to show? Considering the ugly-ass pants they constantly put her in, I figure the midriff baring is the only way they have to show that no, she doesn't really have a weight problem. (I'm serious, those pants they put her in are soooooo the wrong fit for her. They make her look like...me, trying to wear those.)

- Why is it that the non-white female actresses always get stuck playing the hot alien chick in these shows, and are only there to be a sex symbol?

Um, where do I start? That's such a huge generalization. Voyager - 7 of 9 was definitely white, and I think it's pretty darn fair to say that she was the hot sex symbol, while B'Elanna Torres got to kick butt as the Chief Engineer, in the same outfits the rest of the crew wore. I'm pretty sure that the character of Zoey on Firefly wasn't there as a sex symbol (not to say that she wasn't sexy, mind you.) Nichelle Nichols I suppose might have been a sex symbol of the ST the original series, but she wore the same thing every other female crew member wore. I believe it was more a commentary on that decade's view of women in general than on women of race.

Besides, see my response to "she's only there as a sex symbol" above. I think that entire viewpoint is erroneous.

I just can't even believe that supposed fans of the character and the actress playing her would pick her apart like this. Is this an example of what I can expect from most of the fandom? I hope not. Wow.

Date: 2005-09-12 04:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] misssimm.livejournal.com
Yeah..welcome to the Stargate fandom, you can expect to see this sort of thing for the next 10 years or so.

Do you see why I like the Alias fandom so much now? ;)

Date: 2005-09-12 05:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rhienelleth.livejournal.com
My God, I am so naive. Perhaps I will just stick to my f-list and avoid message boards in the future. Everyone here is rational and smart.

Date: 2005-09-12 05:08 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] misssimm.livejournal.com
lol there are some sane parts of the fandom, unfortunatly they're all gradually being taken over my the rabid fan girls.

You're lucky you wern't around when Michael Shanks left SG1 *shudder*

Date: 2005-09-12 05:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amphetamine-47.livejournal.com
Go girl!

Yeah, I started in SG1 S/J fandom, but didn't stay long. Some of the "fans" in this fandom, in my experience, are some of the most negative people!!!

I think Teyla's a great character, and while I wouldn't mind seeing her have lots of sex, I don't see her as the 7-of-9 of Atlantis. If you really look at her character, she's actually very conservative! *grumbles*

Date: 2005-09-12 05:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rhienelleth.livejournal.com
LMAO! Yes, exactly. I was absolutely shocked that these people were watching the same show I am.

Date: 2005-09-12 06:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elishavah.livejournal.com
Rule of thumb for Stargate and Atlantis -- STAY ON LJ.

Even there, the fandom can be...not stable. But SG comes with a eight-year history of character vs. character fans, and 'ship vs. 'ship nutsiness, and that not only carried over into SGA but, in some ways, got worse.

Think of it kind of a constant state of what Alias got the other year with S/V folks sending threats to Melissa George.

Date: 2005-09-12 06:32 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rhienelleth.livejournal.com
Wow. I vanished from the message boards when all the Melissa George hate started happening, because I just can't stand to read things that juvenile. LJ it is.

Date: 2005-09-13 12:08 am (UTC)
morwen_peredhil: (teyla undaunted)
From: [personal profile] morwen_peredhil
I had little use for Teyla until late S1, but since then she has grown on me.

I have no use for the rest of those criticisms of Teyla, but in my opinion, she was a bit on the wooden side for much of S1, in a way that had nothing to do with formality or lack of contractions. However, as Rachel Luttrell has gained acting experience, she has improved greatly. I quite like Teyla now.

Date: 2005-09-13 05:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kalikahuntress.livejournal.com
I just had to say thank you and see this is the reason why i don't visit Atlantis message boards or any of those pro Shep/Weir sites or LJ's.

And i just finised your fic and its so yummy, thanks for sharing:)

Date: 2005-09-13 05:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rhienelleth.livejournal.com
I've only touched the surface of some of the fanwars in this fandom, I think. Or so my more experienced f-list has convinced me. Scary.

Thanks for reading, I'm glad you liked it. :)

Profile

rhienelleth: (Default)
rhienelleth

February 2016

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
141516171819 20
21222324252627
2829     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 04:19 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios