rhienelleth: (seth lean - trixalicious)
[personal profile] rhienelleth
So how did a movie like Flyboys entirely escape my notice until now?  Dude, a WWI movie about fighter pilots!  The very first fighter pilots, ever.  I love historical war movies, particularly historical movies that depict young men going into battle and being forever changed by it.  WWII is my most favorite era, but that's probably just because WWI has been sadly neglected, and thus I know less about it.  Not to mention, no war movie yet made can compete with the love I have for Band of Brothers

Anyway, very excited!  The preview is so pretty. :)  I love how they dressed back then.  That's one thing I think we've kind of lost in our present day, we just don't look as good as society as whole did back then. 

Mark and I finished catching up on S2 of Deadwood, finally. 
This show continues to impress me, though I can't believe they killed William!  Poor Tom, he was just wrecked by that, blaming himself and his bicycle, when he had nothing to do with it.

Poor Alma might as well kiss Seth forever good-bye.  Now that she's married Ellsworth (who is a really good guy, and deserves better than marrying a woman who doesn't and probably never will love him), and more importantly, now that Martha has more tragedy in her life than Alma ever had, Seth will hardly notice Alma. 

See, Seth is one of those men drawn to the damsel in distress.  He needs to be the hero, the strong protector, while at the same time finding an admirable strength in the woman he's championing.  William's death just paves the way for real romance between him and Martha, now.

Hearst is going to be a big, big problem.  How nice that they got a real down-to-earth, everybody's friend kind of actor to play him.  I'm betting he's a lot more dangerous than he let's on. 

WTF is up with EB?  Has he lost it? 

I hope Joanie is able to do something to get back her focus in S3.  Woolcott the Serial Killer kind of took the wind out of her sails and made her a scared little girl again. 

Andy killed Cy!  Shanked him right in the middle of the street, crowded with people!  At least, I think Cy's probably dead...I hope.  Damn, he must have really hated him to wait, and come back as this changed man of God, and wait some more, and then just coldly knife him.  I thought, when they were standing close together like that, that Cy might have knifed Andy, and then I was shocked when it was the other way around. 

Al is, of course, my favorite character.  I loved how he kept eschewing going to William's funeral, but then he stood out on his balcony and watched from afar, cause he really wanted to be there, but didn't want anyone to know he wanted to, and then when Dan and the others headed back to the Gem, Al snuck back inside all quick-like.  I think it must really freaking suck to have to memorize Al's lines, and then in the behind the scenes featurette, the actors all talked about getting a script ten minutes before filming a scene sometimes, and I thought "Damn, poor Ian McShane!"

Also, as a writer, I find the way David Milch writes very odd.  Laying on the floor, surrounded by all these people who basically sit there silently and just watch him write is...creepy and weird. 

The seminar this past weekend went well.  I'm very tired today, and Mark is sick.  He'd been fighting off a cold all week, and then  teaching all weekend and putting so much of himself out there to try and help people get stuff did him in. 

I had a two hour conversation with Shannon, one of the newer students in another school who came, about training from a woman's perspective.  Her comments and responses to what I said have me giving serious thought to doing a women's seminar again.  A one day event to teach women all the stuff they don't know or haven't thought about for self defense.  The problem is, people always act interested, but then when the day comes, they don't show.  My theory is they're too uncomfortable to come and spend six hours doing stuff outside their comfort zone, and they talk themselves out of going.  Except then I've spent all this effort and preperation, and given up my entire Saturday for two people to show.  Hmm.

Date: 2006-09-18 04:44 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] madlori.livejournal.com
Cy ain't dead. Sorry.

WTF is up with EB? Has he lost it?

Did EB ever HAVE it?

I hope you have HBO...you can watch S3 On Demand.

Date: 2006-09-18 04:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rhienelleth.livejournal.com
Damn it! I was hoping, cause he's so...reprehensible, he makes Al look like a good guy.

Well, no, EB never had it, but he seemed even more crackers than usual there at the end, falling on his ass and spouting nonsense when Hearst was buying his hotel.

Alas, no HBO. :( I am really hoping they won't drag their feet releasing S3 on DVD as they did S2...

Date: 2006-09-18 06:58 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] annebelle-ca.livejournal.com
The early 20th century from 1905-1925 I find really fascinating. There were all these thigns that happened that completely changed society as a whole. If I were a historian, that would be my schtick. I've always wanted to write a novel set in that era. There's just something romatic about it.

Date: 2006-09-18 09:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sarkastic.livejournal.com
I love Joanie in S3 so much it's not even funny. I think she's my favorite character in S3, even more so than Trixie and Seth. But she did have it pretty damn sucky in S2.

I'm amazed at all the actors on the show, but especially Ian McShane. One day I'll learn to talk Deadwood-speak.

Profile

rhienelleth: (Default)
rhienelleth

February 2016

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
141516171819 20
21222324252627
2829     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 12:31 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios