More Bond, cause I'm such a fangirl
Oct. 24th, 2006 10:03 amBecause, you know, I just can't help myself, I've read reviews of the script and movie for Casino Royale on AiCN, and am now spoiled silly and also SO DAMN EXCITED for this movie. Even more so than I was yesterday after watching the trailer about six times.
Yes, yes, I know. I am a FREAK. I have a THING for gorgeous blond men with amazing blue eyes as dangerous spies, ok? I can't help it, it's a shallow weakness.
Really, if you're into Bond, none of these are going to surprise you much anyway, but just in case
Anyway, the movie sounds amazing, in the words of the reviewer "just like the trailer makes it look". Hell yes.
Yes, yes, I know. I am a FREAK. I have a THING for gorgeous blond men with amazing blue eyes as dangerous spies, ok? I can't help it, it's a shallow weakness.
Really, if you're into Bond, none of these are going to surprise you much anyway, but just in case
~ Casino Royale, as we knew from the trailer, is the beginning of Bond. We get to see him earn his 00 status. It's the first book, or so I hear, so that makes sense. It also makes me excited because this movie appears to be reimagining the character/series in the same way as Batman Begins did for Batman. Which means we will likely get more movies with Craig as Bond along the same vein as this one, only we'll see him become the character we know. Right now, Bond is not quite the refined rogue we're familiar with. Not yet. And you know? I'm totally ok with that. I'm more into barely controlled violence like that stairwell fight than big explosions like the previous movies.
~ Bond is not quite yet recognizable as Bond. He's new enough at the job to make mistakes, to get too emotionally involved, etc. Which leads us to the relationship between Bond and Eva Green's character. This is going to be similar to the movie, I think, where Bond got married and his wife was killed. This time, Bond falls in love, and the bad guys use her against him (of course), and of course this means she dies in the end. (I haven't actually read confirmed spoilers of this, but hello, Bond falls in love with girl = she has to die for the rest of the franchise to work.) So, I'm betting she dies, and this creates the cynical womanizer we know in future movies. After this experience, he learns to guard his emotions so it never happens again - theoretically, at least. Apparently the relationship between Bond and whatever Green's character is called is very well done and quite believable. I hope this is true.
~ Aston Martin. YES! I was hoping they would keep this, and they did. Dude, between Craig and the car, what woman would say no, seriously? (And
rach, can't you just see Sark behind that wheel?)
~ Bond is not quite yet recognizable as Bond. He's new enough at the job to make mistakes, to get too emotionally involved, etc. Which leads us to the relationship between Bond and Eva Green's character. This is going to be similar to the movie, I think, where Bond got married and his wife was killed. This time, Bond falls in love, and the bad guys use her against him (of course), and of course this means she dies in the end. (I haven't actually read confirmed spoilers of this, but hello, Bond falls in love with girl = she has to die for the rest of the franchise to work.) So, I'm betting she dies, and this creates the cynical womanizer we know in future movies. After this experience, he learns to guard his emotions so it never happens again - theoretically, at least. Apparently the relationship between Bond and whatever Green's character is called is very well done and quite believable. I hope this is true.
~ Aston Martin. YES! I was hoping they would keep this, and they did. Dude, between Craig and the car, what woman would say no, seriously? (And
Anyway, the movie sounds amazing, in the words of the reviewer "just like the trailer makes it look". Hell yes.
no subject
Date: 2006-10-24 07:14 pm (UTC)Honestly, I've been so impressed by everything, that I'm truly excited to see it.
no subject
Date: 2006-10-25 06:04 pm (UTC)So, yeah. Trailer = jaw dropping for me. Followed by squeeful excitement. :)
no subject
Date: 2006-10-24 10:59 pm (UTC)You've totally got me intrigued.
Ahhhh Sark...only better? Hot damn!
no subject
Date: 2006-10-25 06:08 pm (UTC)Not that I'm excited, or anything. I made my friend L watch it twice. The first time, her computer would only play some teeny tiny version, and she was all "Hmmm, he's ok, but not that good looking." I was like "What?? You need to see a bigger version, where you can actually see him." So I d/led and played one for her, and she was all "Damn, I was not expecting him to look that good! He's got some nice muscles." And now she's all excited to see it.
Er...you know, not only because Craig looks hot. She and I like the same character types, so I knew she's want to see it just for how gritty and stuff he seems. But having a hot actor play the part doesn't hurt anything. ;D