rhienelleth: (Default)
[personal profile] rhienelleth
There is good and bad in the Rhien world of late.

The good - I've finally figured out why I was so unhappy with that crown I've been working on. Part of the reason I'm making it is to use as a "sample" piece to some local bridal shops, maybe. So I decided to incorporate pearls into it, along with my usual swarovskis everywhere. Normally, I really like pearls. I own several strands in varying colors, have lusted for a Tahitian pearl strand since I saw my first Tahitian/South Sea pearl, etc. But after weeks of the half done thing just sitting there, not being finished, it finally hit me - there was something about having pearls on this crown that DID NOT work for me, at all. So last night, I took them off. And I feel much better about it. So the crown is just going to have swarovski's and argentium silver. And for some reason, that just works for me.

Also good - I've decided I'm going to enter one of my masks in Rings & Things annual jewelry design contest. Grand Prize in each of the categories (mine will be in the "mostly metal" category) is $750 of credit to use with them. First prizes get $250, and the runners up get $50. I prefer Rio to R&T for ordering supplies, but hey, free supplies is free supplies. I could spend any or all of those amounts of jewelry stuff. You can enter up to three items, so I may enter one of my crowns, too. Winners will be announced the first week of April, so keep your fingers crossed for me.

Not so good - my corsety boning order went awry. I called the company yesterday, and they're as mystified as I am as to what could have happened to it. "Liz" is going to check it out for me and call me today, but in the meantime, my corset won't be finished in time for this weekend. :(

Also not so good - I am sick. Stupid cold going around. Everyone at work has it, Mark has it, I was bound to get it. I feel like crud, and will probably be going home early today.

And finally, my Tivo has taken to not recording stuff of late. It seems everytime there's a power bump or short loss of power, the system forgets how to connect via the wireless network, doesn't update, and voila, suddenly it doesn't think we've paid our monthly dues and it doesn't record something. Does it warn us ahead of time? NO. So, no NCIS or The Unit (for Mark) last night. I am seriously peeved, as this is the second time this has happened in as many weeks.

Date: 2007-02-14 11:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zonereyrie.livejournal.com
Hi, I run [livejournal.com profile] tivolovers That definitely should not be happening. And if it runs out of gudie data, it normally warns you when you go into TiVo Central.

For the WiFi network, are you using the TiVo branded adapter? Any WEP or WPA?

One thing you might consider is to pick up a small UPS (Uninterruptible Power Supply) and connect the TiVo (and any cable box feeding it) to it. I do this so that any small outages, brownouts, etc, don't interrupt a recording. It also protects the systems from power spikes.

Profile

rhienelleth: (Default)
rhienelleth

February 2016

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
141516171819 20
21222324252627
2829     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 11:47 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios