I'm back....sort of.
Mar. 23rd, 2007 08:40 amI've spent the last two days immersed in dusty files and old filing cabinets. We are half done, but we ran out of appropriate boxes to archive them in, thus I have something of a reprieve today.
I am, however, moving my office today, so who knows how much I'll actually be online and/or at the computer. Moving requires not only the physical moving and setting up of things, but also IT coming down and setting up my computer so I'm connected to the servers again. And when they get to that is anyone's guess.
All of this means, of course, that I've gotten exactly nothing written since Tuesday. Woe! Even at home, I've been much more tired than usual. I'm not used to this manual labor stuff of moving boxes and files and filing cabinets. So, no words. :( But I've been mentally plotting those last chapters in my head, so that's something.
Also, my Mom has started reading it. She'd been bugging me about it, so I finally gave her a copy about a month ago. She called me last night and is up to Chapter 10, or page 68 (these are single spaced pages w/breaks between paragraphs, as people in my family tend to whine if you "waste paper" - whatever.) For those of you reading (ok, pretty much just for
kistha's benefit), she's read up to the Masque. Which means she hasn't gotten to any of the more explicit scenes yet, for which I am sort of grateful. I'm kind of hoping she won't comment on them. I warned her they were there, but I don't want to actually talk to my mother about the s-e-x in the book, you know?
So far, she is enjoying it and swears that the first chapter pulled her right in. (I have kind of a problem with the first two chapters - not that they're bad, but they're actually my least favorite in the whole book. People could make some incorrect assumptions from them, because they don't know what's coming.) But Mom says she thinks they're good as is and warned me I shouldn't mess with them. I'll wait and see what my beta readers have to say.
I think part of my problem is, I like the book more and more the further into it I get. At one time, the Masque was my favorite three chapters. But last night when she told me she was reading it, I thought "Damn, she hasn't even gotten to the wolves yet!".
Do other authors experience this, or is it just me?
I'm hoping I'll get to put some time in on it today, but we'll see how the moving of my office goes. And obviously, the files are only half done, so next week I'm not 100% positive how much time I'll be spending on it, even though my goal was to finish the thing by the 31st. It's still my goal, I'll just have to somehow try to make it happen!
I am, however, moving my office today, so who knows how much I'll actually be online and/or at the computer. Moving requires not only the physical moving and setting up of things, but also IT coming down and setting up my computer so I'm connected to the servers again. And when they get to that is anyone's guess.
All of this means, of course, that I've gotten exactly nothing written since Tuesday. Woe! Even at home, I've been much more tired than usual. I'm not used to this manual labor stuff of moving boxes and files and filing cabinets. So, no words. :( But I've been mentally plotting those last chapters in my head, so that's something.
Also, my Mom has started reading it. She'd been bugging me about it, so I finally gave her a copy about a month ago. She called me last night and is up to Chapter 10, or page 68 (these are single spaced pages w/breaks between paragraphs, as people in my family tend to whine if you "waste paper" - whatever.) For those of you reading (ok, pretty much just for
So far, she is enjoying it and swears that the first chapter pulled her right in. (I have kind of a problem with the first two chapters - not that they're bad, but they're actually my least favorite in the whole book. People could make some incorrect assumptions from them, because they don't know what's coming.) But Mom says she thinks they're good as is and warned me I shouldn't mess with them. I'll wait and see what my beta readers have to say.
I think part of my problem is, I like the book more and more the further into it I get. At one time, the Masque was my favorite three chapters. But last night when she told me she was reading it, I thought "Damn, she hasn't even gotten to the wolves yet!".
Do other authors experience this, or is it just me?
I'm hoping I'll get to put some time in on it today, but we'll see how the moving of my office goes. And obviously, the files are only half done, so next week I'm not 100% positive how much time I'll be spending on it, even though my goal was to finish the thing by the 31st. It's still my goal, I'll just have to somehow try to make it happen!
no subject
Date: 2007-03-23 04:18 pm (UTC)Totally.
-Dthon
no subject
Date: 2007-03-23 04:26 pm (UTC)Because I think inane things like, "Why must the foot-in-the-door depend entirely on that first chapter? Chapter 32 is so much better!" <- and yet, Chapter 32 makes no sense without all the previous chapters, so it's not like I don't want them to start with Chapter 1. LOL.
You know, I used to think endings were not nearly as cool as all that built up to the ending. NOW I think the ending is the best part, because all these threads are finally woven together, and discovering how they fit together is the funnest part of the book. For me as the author, anyway. You?
no subject
Date: 2007-03-23 04:33 pm (UTC)I like the book more and more the further into it I get
That's usually a good sign!
Good luck with the moving and I know you'll be able to finish the book soon.
no subject
Date: 2007-03-23 04:38 pm (UTC)But I admire you immensely for having the guts to go ahead and do this, and I for one am excited to read it when you're done. :)
no subject
Date: 2007-03-23 04:54 pm (UTC)*pouts* work sucks - not to mention the joys of manual labor. *wheeee*
When I was writing, I had the one *awesome* scene that you didn't understand until chapters later. I was never sure if it worked (no real beta readers *shudder*) but they had to get to the later chapter to understand the best bit. So I was always torn there.
As far as Mom goes -isn't there fake s-e-x in the Masque? And the Masque was pretty fun, but the wolves are awesome. :) Hopefully it just won't come up. Did you read dthon's Silver Iron & Brass? I forbade my Mom from reading that one. Way too deviant. So I totally know what you mean. :)
no subject
Date: 2007-03-23 05:02 pm (UTC)And yes, there is indeed fake s-e-x - and not so fake foreplay sort of stuff - at the Masque. Which she hadn't gotten to yet when I'd talked to her. My Mom reads fast. By the time I talk to her again, she'll be well past the fake stuff and have read the "real" scenes - or at least one of them.
And no, the only thing of
no subject
Date: 2007-03-23 07:03 pm (UTC)Let's see - there's Ferry Folk (Urban fantasy) and Silver Iron and Brass (Erotic Horror) that are done, done. Then there's Residue (urban fantasy)which is mostly done, but then end is a mess and Jamie Bright ("satire" but really urban fantasy in publishing) which is only half way finished, and Horsekiller which is halfway done and is the sequel to Ferry Folk. He still hasn't typed any of The Valhalla.
Let me know. :)