So...the Heroes finale. Kind of not shocking. Maybe it was supposed to be, but I was not at all surprised by that turn of events. I did enjoy it, and the 'set-up' they gave us for next season. I think this show had a very strong, solid first season - it'll be interesting to see if they can carry it into a season 2. Typically, if a show is weak S1, it improves over the next 2-3. If it has a strong S1, sometimes it has nowhere to go but down....sometimes waaaaaaaaay down. (Prison Break, Lost, to name a couple. Alias waited until S3 to degenerate.) Anyway, I plan to buy this one on DVD and I will be tuning in again in the Fall. :)
Now that most of the season finales are over (w/a few exceptions, like tonight's NCIS), it's time to start thinking about Fall's lineup of new shows. What? Too early? Nawwww.
The truth is, I've seen some blurbs about some fairly interesting sounding shows lately, intriguing me enough to do some investigation.
FOX has announced their new Fall schedule, and there is at least one show on it I'm going to check out:
New Amsterdam, a procedural about a NY city detective who was 'blessed' with Immortality by an Indian princess he saved back in the 1600's. Immortal until he finds True Love, at which point he will get to grow old with said love. Played by the scrumptious Nikol
aj Coster-Waldau, (who I have admired since first seeing him in Black Hawk Down) John Amsterdam promises to be as intriguing as Connor McCloud first was in Highlander. (What? I loved that movie in high school.) Only more so, since he's actually on a mission to find true love, where McCloud wanted to avoid the pain of such a connection. But back to the show, is it any wonder that Amsterdam's new partner is a gorgeous, strong willed woman? (Played by Zuleikha Robinson of Rome). I'm sure there will be other romantic possibilities for John, but as any good veteran of such shows as the X-files knows, partners make the best romantic entanglements, if the chemistry is right. *points at picture* How could the chemistry not be there? Just sayin'.
Some trivia for you: New Amsterdam was the original name for New York, back in the day when it was first a (Dutch) colony.
Of course, FOX likes to yank perfectly good shows right and left after they don't instantly produce the ratings TPTB think they should. They've put NA in a Tuesday night time slot, at 8pm. Good thing I'm getting that second TIVO by Fall, so I won't have to choose NCIS over giving this one a try. :)
FOX also has the much talked about Sarah Connor Chronicles, but they've decided to debut it mid-season next year. After they've canceled most of their other new shows, I'm sure. Meanwhile, Prison Break will continue limping along with the most improbable storylines ever conceived.
Another Rome alumni, Kevin McKidd, stars in a drama by NBC that has me intrigued. Journeyman is about Dan Vassar (played by McKidd), a man who discovers his ability to travel short jumps through time. He changes lives, tries to help people, but it doesn't always work out well. We've seen this premise a million times, and usually it's pretty good. Quantum Leap and Early Edition are two I can think of that I thoroughly enjoyed. Journeyman is set to air Monday nights at 10:00, which means it'll have the strong lead in of Heroes' audience to build off of.
NBC is also going to have the newly imagined Bionic Woman this Fall, but I'm sure everyone's already heard about that. Wednesdays at 9pm is not the best time slot for me (Criminal Minds, Lost, if it returns at that time), but we'll see. I'm sure I'll watch the pilot.
CBS has a new series about a vampire who works as a private detective, solving crimes and helping people.Angel ...er, Moonlight stars Alex O'Loughlin as Mick St. John (hey, at least he's an Irish vampire, that's different, right? Oh, that's right, Angel was Irish), the vampire who investigates crimes and longs for the forbidden love of a mortal woman.
Hey, it's a vampire show. You know I'm going to watch it, even if it does sound like I've seen it before. And I gotta tell you, that Alex O'Loughlin is pretty hot on The Shield this season. He has a more masculine look than they usually choose to play a vampire. I could get behind that. It'll be on Fridays at 9pm. Which probably means it's doomed before it starts, like every other show to get that timeslot in history, but hey.
Now that most of the season finales are over (w/a few exceptions, like tonight's NCIS), it's time to start thinking about Fall's lineup of new shows. What? Too early? Nawwww.
The truth is, I've seen some blurbs about some fairly interesting sounding shows lately, intriguing me enough to do some investigation.
FOX has announced their new Fall schedule, and there is at least one show on it I'm going to check out:
New Amsterdam, a procedural about a NY city detective who was 'blessed' with Immortality by an Indian princess he saved back in the 1600's. Immortal until he finds True Love, at which point he will get to grow old with said love. Played by the scrumptious Nikol
aj Coster-Waldau, (who I have admired since first seeing him in Black Hawk Down) John Amsterdam promises to be as intriguing as Connor McCloud first was in Highlander. (What? I loved that movie in high school.) Only more so, since he's actually on a mission to find true love, where McCloud wanted to avoid the pain of such a connection. But back to the show, is it any wonder that Amsterdam's new partner is a gorgeous, strong willed woman? (Played by Zuleikha Robinson of Rome). I'm sure there will be other romantic possibilities for John, but as any good veteran of such shows as the X-files knows, partners make the best romantic entanglements, if the chemistry is right. *points at picture* How could the chemistry not be there? Just sayin'. Some trivia for you: New Amsterdam was the original name for New York, back in the day when it was first a (Dutch) colony.
Of course, FOX likes to yank perfectly good shows right and left after they don't instantly produce the ratings TPTB think they should. They've put NA in a Tuesday night time slot, at 8pm. Good thing I'm getting that second TIVO by Fall, so I won't have to choose NCIS over giving this one a try. :)
FOX also has the much talked about Sarah Connor Chronicles, but they've decided to debut it mid-season next year. After they've canceled most of their other new shows, I'm sure. Meanwhile, Prison Break will continue limping along with the most improbable storylines ever conceived.
Another Rome alumni, Kevin McKidd, stars in a drama by NBC that has me intrigued. Journeyman is about Dan Vassar (played by McKidd), a man who discovers his ability to travel short jumps through time. He changes lives, tries to help people, but it doesn't always work out well. We've seen this premise a million times, and usually it's pretty good. Quantum Leap and Early Edition are two I can think of that I thoroughly enjoyed. Journeyman is set to air Monday nights at 10:00, which means it'll have the strong lead in of Heroes' audience to build off of.
NBC is also going to have the newly imagined Bionic Woman this Fall, but I'm sure everyone's already heard about that. Wednesdays at 9pm is not the best time slot for me (Criminal Minds, Lost, if it returns at that time), but we'll see. I'm sure I'll watch the pilot.
CBS has a new series about a vampire who works as a private detective, solving crimes and helping people.
Hey, it's a vampire show. You know I'm going to watch it, even if it does sound like I've seen it before. And I gotta tell you, that Alex O'Loughlin is pretty hot on The Shield this season. He has a more masculine look than they usually choose to play a vampire. I could get behind that. It'll be on Fridays at 9pm. Which probably means it's doomed before it starts, like every other show to get that timeslot in history, but hey.
no subject
Date: 2007-05-22 04:26 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2007-05-22 04:31 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2007-05-22 04:33 pm (UTC)Ah. I miss Forever Knight.
no subject
Date: 2007-05-22 04:52 pm (UTC)In any case, it sounds like a show that's been done, but sometimes I'm ok with that. :)
no subject
Date: 2007-05-22 09:44 pm (UTC)Rhienelleth - doorway to more crack. :)
Moonlighting *might* be interesting, but I don't think I've ever watched any TV Vampire show - other than Kindred the Embarrassed. Mostly with other Cammies to make fun of the rules, and the wimpy prince. I was a 13th gen and scarier than he was. I wonder if I could pick those up on DVD now for utterly cheap, there was the occasional interesting episode. I should be watching Heroes and Blood Ties now, and I'm not. Well, it will all be on DVD eventually.
no subject
Date: 2007-05-23 12:07 am (UTC)~that's me, all right!
no subject
Date: 2007-05-23 01:21 am (UTC)This cracked me up beyond all belief. I was laughing so hard.
no subject
Date: 2007-05-23 01:36 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2007-05-22 10:32 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2007-05-23 12:08 am (UTC)