HEROES!!

Sep. 25th, 2007 09:34 am
rhienelleth: (peter-claire_shimmeree)
[personal profile] rhienelleth
Like I would post about ANYTHING ELSE this morning!

Hmm. Er...I apologize to the people who've friended me since last summer, and even to those people who've joined this journal since, oh, the glory days of Alias. You have no idea how fangirly and squeeful I can be when it comes to certain shows and/or characters and/or actors. *cough*DAVIDANDERS*cough* I promise, I'm still relatively normal in most other respects. And I apologize for the caplocks ahead of time.

Without further ado:

SARK DAVID ANDERS SARK IS BACK!!!

Just had to get that out of the way before heading into more coherent episode commentary.

I'll be the first to admit, there were things in this episode that made me go...um, OKAY, THEY BETTER 'SPLAIN THAT LATER! Like Nathan alive and, well, bearded like a serial killer. Apparently, he somehow survived the Explosion of Doom while yet believing Peter to be dead. HOW IS THAT POSSIBLE, EXACTLY??? TPTB had best offer up a reasonable explanation sooner rather than later!

But I did love how he kicked his Mom out of Peter's place. And how he talked to Claire, but didn't really give her what she wanted when she called him. Nathan continues to fail at fatherhood. And that moment in the mirror? Ew! What was that about? If he was horribly scarred by the explosion, how did he heal so flawlessly?

Okay, so enough about Nathan. Let's talk about Matt. Why are he and his wife divorced? Did she lose the baby or something? I HATE THESE THINGS THEY'VE DONE WITH NO EXPLANATION WHATSOEVER!! It is very cool that he's being Daddy to Molly, though. Awwww. And of course, Molly has started dreaming of the New Evil Guy. We shall see. It was awesome how she called Matt on his cheating ways. Heh. And she was right! What would Matt have done without his powers in that test? Because there may come a time when he doesn't have them, and relying on them too much could end up crippling him. Hmm, foreshadowing? Also, seeing Molly made me go "Okay, now where is Micah? Where is Nikki? WHERE ARE THEY??" Like, seriously. I see they're in previews for next week - they better be!

Dang it. I just knew Kaito was going to die! Poor Hiro. Poor Ando! What will he do now? Why couldn't Angela Bennet have died, instead? Also, the hooded figure looked waaaaay young to me in movement and body language, yet Kaito and Angelo both seemed to believe the torn and squigglied pictures had been delivered by "one of the twelve" meaning (I assume) one of the twelve older generation heroes (apparently there were twelve. Huh. Kinda like the cylons.) So, here's my theory: the one who killed Kaito has the power to possess people, and he/she took over some young punk and forced them to do the suicide run off that building to kill Kaito. And since Kaito knows all their powers, of course he would recognize who had to be behind it at once. Cause there were two bodies that went off that roof, so unless the one who killed Kaito has the twin abilities of forever youth (Takezo Kensei??) and Claire's invulnerability... you get what I mean.

OMG, Mr. Bennet!! I so <3 you! The whole time the Kinkos manager was riding him, I could see the explosion simmering just below the surface. He wants Claire to remain ordinary and draw no attention to herself, and yet he chafes under the exact same constraint the same way she does! She might be Nathan's daughter biologically, but she is SO his daughter in all other ways. I loved it when he so coolly and calmly did the lock with the guy's fingers and told him what was what. And then went back to reading his paper! Ah, HRG, you are not meant for retail. Or for any "normal" job, really. You are way too awesome for that. :D

Claire showed much more restraint in not jumping off the tower like she wanted to. But it's only a matter of time before she knocks head cheerleader off her throne. Like Daddy, Claire doesn't do ordinary very well. I'm going to assume at this point that new boyfriend West's ability to fly is a deliberate plot point, and not a merely tired recycle of the same power Claire's Dad has. Come on. Not only are they reusing a power, they're reusing the one Nathan has! There has to be a reason ...I'm waiting to see what it is.

What was up with the really, really bad Irish accents at the end?? I mean, TERRIBLE! I haven't heard one that horrible since David Boreanaz in Angel, and that one you just kind of cringed, accepted, and let go given the show and stuff. I guess I can do the same here. *shudders* Also, Peter chained in a box wearing the Haitian's necklace WITH AMNESIA. I don't care if he's supposed to be dead or whatever - the Haitian's power was MEMORY, and Peter HAS NONE. WEARING THE HAITIAN'S NECKLACE. I'm just saying, this seems fairly obvious. But why erase Peter's memory, and not Nathan's? Hmmm. and they better not drag this amnesia thing out too long - those storylines get tired real fast.

And, of course, let us not forget the best part of this episode - KENSEI AND HIRO!! This, of course, had all of my favorite lines. Aside from the already previewed "Honor I can spend" and "I pay them a fair wage...if they live", we got:

Hiro: "Oh, no! I broke history." *pets Hiro* Yeah, you did. But I have faith you'll fix it!

Hiro: What village is that?
Kensei: "That would be Otsi." <--total Sark line. That touch of irony and sarcasm.

Also, Kensei blaming Hiro for the village's destruction? HEH! I totally thought the swordsmith's daughter was going to slap Hiro next.

Hiro and Kensei: "My sword!" Hee.

My theory is still that somehow, either Hiro by himself, or perhaps with a reluctant Kensei does all of the things Kensei ends up known for. As in, Kensei helps because he has to if he wants to get paid or drunk or whatever. I'm cool with that.

Clearly, Kensei's symbol being also the mystical Heroes symbol is important. Somehow, everything ties together here. I'll be very interested to see how that comes about, exactly. My current theory is that Kensei is through some means or another, the progenitor of the heroes. HE made these powers start appearing, somehow, and they are all linked back to him. How else would a tattoo of his symbol spontaneously appear on Jessica's shoulder? Again, we'll have to wait and see how it all unfolds.



For now, MY KINGDOM FOR SOME KENSEI SCREENCAPS WITH WHICH TO ICON!!

Date: 2007-09-25 07:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kistha.livejournal.com
I so totally agree! Especially the terrible accents. AWFUL.

OK, moving on -

I'm not sure that Kaito *is* dead. I mean Andro thinks that's who's on the ground, but I didn't get a really good look, did you? And I didn't think young, I thought short. We'll see what the hell that was. Still don't know Kaito's powers (apparently involves/requires a sword, or was that just to get Andro out of the way?) or Mommy Dearests.

I totally missed that it was the Haitian's necklace! Ah, smart girl you are!

Of course Kensei was fabulous. I totally agree about the Hiro thing, but the progenitor of the heroes? Not sure about that - I'm wondering if it's Hiro who sets it all in motion under the name Kensei - remember that thing that Kaito said about passing on a family legacy?

Anyhoo - totally awesome. What did you think of Chuck and Journeyman?

Date: 2007-09-25 09:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rhienelleth.livejournal.com
YES. They were the worst accents EVER. They should have asked DA how he manages so well with the English.

Hmm. I didn't watch Chuck live....trying to remember if I told one of the Tivos to record it...huh. Not sure. I liked Journeyman okay, but Mark really liked it. He's such a sucker for time travel themed stories!

Date: 2007-09-25 09:44 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kistha.livejournal.com
Actually watched all three live, and recorded (so if you missed and want a copy I can do that) them too. I was OK with Journeyman - and Chuck started out v. slow but had some funny moments - and the guy who plays Jayne is a full time character for the CIA. The NSA chick is pretty cool - after the final big action bit [livejournal.com profile] dthon turns to me and says, "She is kind of like you. Sharp stabbity bits and good throws."

I think I'll keep both on for now, but I doubt we'll watch it live.

Date: 2007-09-25 08:06 pm (UTC)
morwen_peredhil: (sark golden - by wikidwitch)
From: [personal profile] morwen_peredhil
I just can't get over how awesome it is to have David Anders back on my TV, with a Brit accent again, no less. It was even better than I thought it would be. I don't have much interest in buying the S1 DVDs, but you can bet that I'll be getting the ones for S2.

NEED KENSEI ICONS NOW.

Date: 2007-09-25 09:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rhienelleth.livejournal.com
It was AWESOME! He plays that sort of character so well! Though I admit I miss that dangerous element Sark had. Maybe we haven't seen that side of Kensei yet? I can hope.

Date: 2007-09-25 09:33 pm (UTC)
morwen_peredhil: (sark golden - by wikidwitch)
From: [personal profile] morwen_peredhil
Well, he did punch Hiro in the face, so there is hope. Kensei doesn't seem to have that sociopathic edge that Sark (and Sylar) have, though.

Date: 2007-09-26 01:01 am (UTC)
celli: a woman and a man holding hands, captioned "i treasure" (Sark sinner)
From: [personal profile] celli
!!!!!!!!!!

Profile

rhienelleth: (Default)
rhienelleth

February 2016

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
141516171819 20
21222324252627
2829     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 04:59 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios