Tonight I have to take a night off from jewelry. Last night was the roleplay game of doom - meaning I spent most of it making jewelry because it's the crappy game where nothing happens no matter how hard you try to make it happen. I know, by now you must be wondering why we subject ourselves to it every two weeks. The simple answer is, because the guy running it is our friend. Also, he has run good games in the past, and hope springs eternal.
Anyway, I made myself my very own labradorite necklace, which I am wearing right now. *is in love with new necklace* And I finished up a project for a friend. She went to a bead show with me a few weeks ago, bought a couple strands of beads and said "Here, make me something with these, I don't care what." They were interesting beads, irregular shaped and colored in such a way that designing with them was challenging. Although I sort of fell in love with this strand while I was making her necklace, so I will look for more this weekend at the gem show I'm attending.

I added the red pearls - her beads are the others, called "raspberry quartz". It's quartz with mica inclusions that appear as sprinkles of red inside the stones. Very pretty. I added the pearls to help accentuate that red. I may try for matching earrings, but not sure if she'd ever wear them. She wears the same pair of earrings for a year at a time. I hope she likes it. It's always a little intimidating making something for someone when they give you license to do "whatever you want".
In any case, the last two nights of intensive jewelry making have put strain on my neck and shoulders again, and I'm feeling the first signs of headaches/possible migraine coming on. So, a break is in order tonight. Possibly a massage if I can fit it in anywhere this week. (I really should.)
In the meantime, I've taken ibuprofen, and I'm drinking some coffee I roasted last weekend, sweet maria's moka kadir blend, which mixes yemen and ethiopian beans. Very strong, rich, earthy flavor. Hopefully it will help kick the hungover feeling I have from two nights in a row up late, doing jewelry. Also, it is good, though not my favorite coffee tone. I think I'll roast up some guatemalan huehuetenango this weekend, which has a less heavy flavor, more nutty and fruity - my favorite single origin coffee to date.
In the meantime, I have words to write!
Oh, and update on the LJ scenario - work computer still shows everything to perfection, but on my Mac at home, userpics STILL won't load.
Anyway, I made myself my very own labradorite necklace, which I am wearing right now. *is in love with new necklace* And I finished up a project for a friend. She went to a bead show with me a few weeks ago, bought a couple strands of beads and said "Here, make me something with these, I don't care what." They were interesting beads, irregular shaped and colored in such a way that designing with them was challenging. Although I sort of fell in love with this strand while I was making her necklace, so I will look for more this weekend at the gem show I'm attending.

I added the red pearls - her beads are the others, called "raspberry quartz". It's quartz with mica inclusions that appear as sprinkles of red inside the stones. Very pretty. I added the pearls to help accentuate that red. I may try for matching earrings, but not sure if she'd ever wear them. She wears the same pair of earrings for a year at a time. I hope she likes it. It's always a little intimidating making something for someone when they give you license to do "whatever you want".
In any case, the last two nights of intensive jewelry making have put strain on my neck and shoulders again, and I'm feeling the first signs of headaches/possible migraine coming on. So, a break is in order tonight. Possibly a massage if I can fit it in anywhere this week. (I really should.)
In the meantime, I've taken ibuprofen, and I'm drinking some coffee I roasted last weekend, sweet maria's moka kadir blend, which mixes yemen and ethiopian beans. Very strong, rich, earthy flavor. Hopefully it will help kick the hungover feeling I have from two nights in a row up late, doing jewelry. Also, it is good, though not my favorite coffee tone. I think I'll roast up some guatemalan huehuetenango this weekend, which has a less heavy flavor, more nutty and fruity - my favorite single origin coffee to date.
In the meantime, I have words to write!
Oh, and update on the LJ scenario - work computer still shows everything to perfection, but on my Mac at home, userpics STILL won't load.
no subject
Date: 2008-04-30 04:33 pm (UTC)Do you do espresso?
I'm saving for a Rancillio Silvia and a Rocky grinder this year. :-D
no subject
Date: 2008-04-30 04:41 pm (UTC)I have a Rocky and I LOVE it. (Do you know coffeegeek.com? Sometimes people upgrade and sell off their perfectly good 'old' equipment for less. That's how I nabbed Rocky for half the usual price.) Sadly, no Silvia yet. I have a Bux Barista (repackaged Saeco) with a regular portafilter (not the pressurized one that comes w/the unit). I keep thinking about Silvia, and then thinking if I'm going to upgrade that far (what with the mods and temp surfing and stuff), I'll go all the way and get a Quickmill Anita (my current dream machine).
But for now, Rocky with the Saeco works well. Enough, anyway, that all our friends are wowed by what I give them to drink when they come over, LOL.
For roasting, I started out with the popcorn popper, and then upgraded to a Turbocrazy to do larger quantities. I love it. :-)
no subject
Date: 2008-04-30 06:40 pm (UTC)I read Coffee Geek and listen to the podcast. I hang out at Specialty-Coffee.com, and I'm reading in-depth at EspressoMyEspresso.com until I can get more hands-on with my own stuff.
I made the pilgrimage to Murky in Arlington VA... I am now a snob. Nothing else will measure up.
I'll look into the Saeco... it's hard choosing, you know? XD
ETA: gorgeous necklace too! I was so intent on the coffee that I didn't look at the picture! LOL!
no subject
Date: 2008-04-30 06:50 pm (UTC)I love the CG podcast! It's a staple in my podcast rotation for work. I haven't checked out EspressomyEspresso yet, I'll have to put it on the list.
I got into coffee a couple of years ago, when I stumbled across CG looking for advice on buying a home espresso machine. Imagine my shock when I discovered I'd have to buy a machine and a grinder to get a truly good coffee experience. Since then, I have definitely become a snob! I try to explain to friends and relatives about the importance of fresh roast and a good burr grinder, and their eyes glaze over. I ended up buying my Mom a Baratza Virtuoso grinder, just so I could get reasonably good coffee when I visit her. :) And I usually prefer my own cup to any of the places near my house.
I don't think I'll ever go so far as to open my own place, but I would be a loyal customer to those who know coffee, and do. :-)
no subject
Date: 2008-04-30 06:54 pm (UTC)Thank-you. :)
LOL - I totally understand! It is so rare to stumble across true coffee aficionados. My husband doesn't drink it, so I rarely get the opportunity to really chat about my obsession. Which, yeah - somewhere around here, there is a post about the lengths to which I went to have good coffee while on a camping trip. It's almost pathetic, really.
no subject
Date: 2008-05-01 04:01 am (UTC)I'm known for privately critiqueing the pulls of the baristas anywhere we go (like I know what I'm doing, lol!). And our idea of a great date? Two laptops and $50 bucks spent on coffee and food someplace with great atmosphere.
I'm doomed.
no subject
Date: 2008-04-30 05:26 pm (UTC)*drools*
no subject
Date: 2008-04-30 05:55 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-04-30 05:48 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-04-30 06:00 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-04-30 06:50 pm (UTC)And the necklace is gorgeous! So summery. I can't imagine anyone not loving it. *covets*
no subject
Date: 2008-04-30 06:56 pm (UTC)I do like the Central American beans myself Though I recently purchased some actual Kona green beans that I'm anxious to roast up and give a try.
no subject
Date: 2008-04-30 08:32 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-04-30 07:11 pm (UTC)Loves
no subject
Date: 2008-04-30 10:16 pm (UTC):(
Take the game back... get together with the other players and conspire to jazz it up a notch. Sometimes the author/creator needs external inspiration too ;P
no subject
Date: 2008-04-30 10:28 pm (UTC)And then the D&D campaign where we spent months traveling with a stupid golden statue that every monster in the realms wanted, could sense, and track us by, yet we couldn't teleport, bag of holding, shrink, or otherwise move or change or hide it in any way, and when we tried to leave the f---ing thing behind, it just showed back up to hang like a freaking albatross around our necks. And it was a statue of GOOD and we were playing EVIL characters who really couldn't have cared less. And yet, the DM got upset when we didn't much care that the statue of doom was basically wreaking destruction upon every town or village we passed, due to the unending armies of giants, trolls, and orcs following us. It was his idea to play evil characters that time, btw.
I totally shouldn't have gotten started with this rant. Anyway, my husband and I have tried, between the two of us, to make something happen. We even tried with two of our good RPGer friends once, thinking maybe Bill just needed more good players. (The other two regular players in the game are his wife and son, who literally sit and do nothing - NOTHING - despite Bill's repeated attempts to bring them into the game and make them do stuff, which are abysmal and just slow us down more.) Er, so, these two friends we
harassedbegged to come play with us one weekend - by the time dinner was going, Doug was in the kitchen helping me. When Mark (the husband) came in and found Doug chopping things, he looked at him like "Dude, why did you abandon me in there?" and Doug looked back and said "I'm chopping basil," with this manic smile pasted on his face.And Doug is a stellar player. No, these games are really that bad. Bill actively fights any attempts to make anything of substance (ie, anything beyond his "plan") happen.
no subject
Date: 2008-04-30 11:54 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-05-01 12:19 am (UTC)Yeah. Bad DM.
Sorry to get you on a rant. I didn't think it was that bad. Good DMs cater to the players. The best campaigns that I've ran (and they often run for at least a year ...and several beyond two) were the ones where the players were engaged enough into the story line to introduce plot elements themselves...and I listened, and they loved it! Because that's what RP is about for a lot of folks: being personally involved in something more fantastic than RL.
:(