rhienelleth: (sydney)
Sorry about the fic spam yesterday, guys. I still have one more to upload (the stand alone An Exercise in Control), but I'm still looking for my copy. *sigh*

It sure did make me all nostalgic, uploading that fic. I even went looking for some new icons, because I realized having all of two Sark icons and no Sydney ones when I have free space for about 50 is just plain wrong.

Truth be told, Illusions kinda makes me wince now, in some places. But I don't have time to go back and revise it while I'm working on the novel. And I'm not sure I should. I mean, I won't be able to go back seven (!!) years later and revise a book after it comes out, so perhaps old fic just needs to stay old fic.

I already hold tickets for the 7:00pm showing of Avatar on Friday. In 3-D, largely because that's the only way our local stadium theater is showing it. *shrugs* I bought tickets on Sunday, after we watched The Princess and the Frog, which I thoroughly enjoyed. It didn't have that magic for me that most of the princess movies do, but I think a huge piece of that was setting it in modern (well, 1920's) times. I still enjoyed it a lot, and thought Disney did a good job with the material, and I really liked how independent and strong Tiana was, but...it lacked that magic something extra for me. Beauty and the Beast still holds the number one favorite spot in my list of Disney princess movies. :)

Anyway, Avatar. The girl behind the counter asked if the tickets were for students, and I wasn't really paying attention to the question and said "yes", then caught myself and was like "Um, no. I have no idea why I said that." (Neither of using having been students in some time, although I've often thought teachers deserve a break, too.) And she was all nice and gave us the tickets at the $3 off per ticket student price anyway. So, 3-D for $10 a ticket! (When we saw A Christmas Carol at a matinee showing, they charged us $21, and I was all "We asked for two tickets, not three!" and the lady was like "That is the price for two tickets. 3-D is more expensive." OMG, I guess so!)

I am very excited to see Avatar, and hope it lives up to my expectations. The score, btw, is already in my hands (and on my ipod). It is quintessential James Horner work, but soft and beautiful. I'll see about uploading a sample track or two and posting them.

Back to work writing. And more coffee!
rhienelleth: (Default)
You know that theory about everyone being connected by six degrees of separation? I wonder what the stats for LJ would be. It's a constant amazement to me when I stumble across new folks for one reason or another, take a look at their info page because I found one or more entries interesting and might want to friend them, and find one or two, (or five or six), people from my own f-list on there. Like, people I've had on my f-list for years. Since Alias, even.

Seriously odd. I think it might be closer to three degrees in LJ land. I mention this because it happened again today.

Plus, various recent events have convinced me that more people than you realize may be reading your journal. I have been amazed and, well, shocked for two totally different reasons in the past, oh, three months or so. So now I sometimes get the urge to post things like this:

*waves* Er, Hi. I promise, I'm not as neurotic as I seem. Or as obsessive. (Except I totally am that obsessive, so that would be a lie.)

I am in a strange, strange mood today. There has got to be something way off with me, hormonally speaking. My poor, beleaguered husband.

Moving on.

So. I finished a pendant for that customer. The one mistakenly bought [livejournal.com profile] kistha's. And I'm waiting to hear what she thinks.

Also, I haven't mentioned it, but Nemesis got a full manuscript request from an agent. It's been in le agent's hands for eight weeks, now, and I find myself getting more and more nervous the more time passes. I should be hearing something back, I think, sometime in the next month. See, I got really jaded about queries and even partials. Good at ignoring the fact that a dozen or so of them were out there, being evaluated and most likely rejected. But this is, apparently, different. I've told myself it's not many times, but I don't appear to be listening.

You are all probably familiar with my instant gratification habit of obsessively researching that, or buying this when I want it. Waiting is hard. I admit I'm not particularly good at it.

I've been trying to distract myself. Writing. Reading. Jewelry making. Mostly it works. But then craptastic life things happen, and in desperately trying not to think about them, I find myself focusing instead on good things, like at least you have a full manuscript out to an agent.

I should perhaps spend some time whipping that query into shape, so I can send it out to more agents from my list. That would maybe help distract me again.

See how random this post was? I swear, this emotional stuff is exhausting me and making it difficult to really focus on anything. Oh, look. It's quitting time for me.

Off to the store, and then home to cook dinner.

*yawn*

Sep. 8th, 2005 07:28 am
rhienelleth: (obi-wan master)
My Rocky Grinder arrives today, according to UPS! Whoo-Hoo! Tomorrow will probably be another "Adventures in Coffee" post as I'll have tried it for the first, second, and possibly third times. :)

A good friend of mine who received a Mr. Coffee espresso machine as a wedding gift about a month ago e-mailed me yesterday with a bunch of questions. He started it off by saying "Mark says you know a lot about coffee..." and proceeded from there with all the problems he's been having. I sent him back a gargantuan e-mail with loads of information, most of which was a polite and informed way of saying "Dude, your machine sucks and someday you will need to buy at least a Gaggia for $150-$200," followed by "You need a burr grinder, not that whirly blade thing you're using. And no, the $50 burr grinders you see are not good enough; in fact, you would be better off using your blade grinder."

He hasn't replied. I'm fairly certain I intimidated him. I really was nice about how I said it, and I listed all the whys and hows for everything. And I even told him to invest in a grinder and continue using the *wince* Mr. Coffee until it dies or he gets tired of it. I just think maybe three pages of information was a little overwhelming. In the future I'll try to restrain myself to one.

I saw several more Bones previews last night. The show actually looks very interesting, though I continue to ignore any and all references to Kathy Reichs' books. They have some strategy going on, getting Spike TV to air promos for it during repeats of CSI.

I continue my trend of feeling crappy this week by waking up with a fairly powerful headache this morning. Not a migraine by any means, but annoying nonetheless. Dosing up on ibuprofen only seems to be sort of getting rid of it. Perhaps eating something for breakfast will help.

Oh, does anyone know how to get a cat to stop eating dog food? Our cat has decided recently that dog food is all he'll eat, and he keeps coming back for more even though I chase him off every time I fill Zoey's food dish. And he's not touching his own food anymore, even though I've switched brands. Twice. *grumbles* I have two full, practically unused bags of cat food in the garage that he won't eat! I even tried bribing him by mixing a tablespoon of canned in with his dry. That worked exactly once. Now he won't touch that, either! I know I've read somewhere that dog food isn't good for cats. I don't want to have to pay for a trip to the vet unless I know they'll tell me something useful.

Profile

rhienelleth: (Default)
rhienelleth

February 2016

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
141516171819 20
21222324252627
2829     

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 09:20 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios