rhienelleth: (beading)
I didn't bring any of my beading things with me to TX. We were trying to pack light, and my box would have taken up a surprisingly large amount of room, and then a story [livejournal.com profile] kistha told me at WW made me fearful of what state said box would arrive in...

The point is, I didn't bring them. I am going through withdrawals here! I have been visiting my favorite sites, but it hasn't really helped. So now I'm trying a little shopping...except I can't buy until we get back and I can get the two paychecks waiting for me deposited. So my shopping cart at https://www.rings-things.com is now scarily full. Of stuff I absolutely need. Mark asked me to make him a rosary, so there's that project. Then there are the lampwork beads I ordered before we left that I have to do something really special with. And the duplicate I want to make of my amber bracelet. And the couple three new ideas swirling around in my head that really should become reality.

sigh

The good news is, we're seeing Pirates in about...two and a half hours. I am so excited. I must have said something about it half a dozen times yesterday, effectively driving my husband nuts. Our original plan was to take the twins (6 year old nephews - I should upload pics, they are adorable) to see it as one big family group today. Except after seeing a few previews, Riley has now decided the movie might be scary in places, and isn't sure he wants to go. I blame this on his father, who has at various times had his boys watch the first two LOTR movies (Riley informed him after TTT that he did not want to see the third movie until he was 7 years old), and SW: Episode 3, which completely traumatized the little guys (though they love and adore all the other SW movies with an obsession equal to my own at their age). Honestly, the man is a PhD, but he just doesn't get what is scary to a 5-6 year old! Anyway, we'll see what Riley decides when it's time to leave for the movie today. Brennan wants to do, I know, so we'll have one of the nephews with us.

Just a couple of general observations about TX, while I'm here:

~ You guys have a heck of a lot of bugs. And I don't recognize most of them. One of them bit me a couple of nights ago on the neck, and it still itches. Scary!

~ Your average songbirds are both prettier looking, and prettier sounding than most of what we have in Oregon. Seriously, all these long tails and splashy colors (like brilliant red) and catchy tunes they sing are amazing. I've tried for some pics, but they seem to have a 6th sense for when the camera is pointed at them.

~ How do you stand all this sun? Mark almost suffered heat exhaustion playing paintball. He was having chills and stuff after they got back to van and headed for home. Not cool. (This was after consuming a gallon of water and two things of Gatorade over the course of the day. I'm sure his hypoglycemia (sp?) figured in, though. He is now carrying glucose pills with him everywhere, and damn those things are effective! I thought food hit him fast. The first time he had a glucose pill, he had barely finished swallowing before he perked up and said "Wow, these really do work!" I almost choked laughing, because really he had barely even finished chewing the thing up - how could it possibly effect him that fast? But they do. Little miracles in a chewable tablet is what they are.) I miss Oregon. By the time we get back, we'll be nothing but hot and sunny days, too, but at least we'll have our trees and mountains around us again. There are lots of trees here, but they don't seem to get very tall. Must be that whole desert thing.

Ok, I'm off. I'll try to upload some pics later.
rhienelleth: (handbasket - marinarusalka)
Today is my last "free" day until we leave for WW, then we come back Sunday, have another "free" day Monday, and fly out for two weeks of blistering heat (aka TX) Tuesday.  So you probably won't see much of me here for a bit.  Though I am taking The Precious (aka laptop) with me both places, so you never know.  You might see just as much of me as always. 

But on the likely chance you won't, catch y'all on the flip side. 

[personal profile] kistha - is there a chance you could e-mail me a cell # or the like, and I shall send you the same, so we can maybe touch base Thursday on things like when we'll arrive and what your (probably crazy) schedule may be like?

I'm debating how much/what beading stuff to bring.  My tools and wire, for sure, and a couple beads for wire demo purposes (unless [profile] shadawyn no longer needs me to bring them?)  Obviously a couple of my projects.  I doubt I'll have time to actually do any real beading, if last year's WW is any indication.  But since I just got my very first set of artisan crafted lampwork beads in the mail, I am sooooooo anxious to make something with them.  Maybe I can squeeze in a bracelet tonight...

I think the impending TX trip and the stress of packing and leaving home for pretty much two and a half weeks has made me much more calm about pitching this weekend.  Because way back when I registered and signed up to pitch, I was all butterflies about it, but now that it's here, even though I'm no more prepared than back then, I'm feeling surreally calm about the whole thing.  I'm going to pitch for the first time, it could go well or nightmarishly bad.  Ah, well. 

This is what back-to-back vacationing can do.  Aren't vacations supposed to be relaxing?  Why does this so not feel relaxing! 

*deep breath*

It's just I still have so much to do.  I have to clean my house, make my Mom a copy of the house key, buy extra cat/dog food and kitty litter, buy my Mom and Mom-in-law thank-you somethings for taking care of our pets, PACK for WW, PACK for TX, oh, and buy a new swimwuit for TX, mail Mark's paintball gun to TX...I am not overwhelmed, I am not panicking, I am calm and fine. 

Oh, and I'm getting my hair done this afternoon.  I can't put it off, no.  My roots are too long already, and I simply cannot face going on vacation and looking at a half inch to an inch of ugly roots the whole time.  I am not vain, it's just one of my pet peeves.

ETA: Our hotel room comes equipped w/high speed internet (which we must pay extra for) and Starbuck's coffee (which is free).  Dude, coffee!  Ok, so to my coffee snob sensabilities, Bux is not the best, but it's a lot better than no coffee at all, which I think could possibly kill me.

Hey, does anyone know if ethernet cables can come with a splitter?  The internet access doesn't say wireless, so one assumes we'll be plugging in, and it would be nice if we could both be online at the same time...

Profile

rhienelleth: (Default)
rhienelleth

February 2016

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
141516171819 20
21222324252627
2829     

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 11:09 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios